I came across this Super Easy Halter dress tutorial  and just knew I had to try it!  So I pulled a knit fabric from my stash, picking my least favorite so if the dress went wonky, I didn’t care about the fabric getting ruined.  After much tweaking, I actually love the dress and have already made 2 others.  I still have to tweak the other two since it was late and the baby wanted to go to bed.  I am going to try shirring the top of one of the dresses.  The print is loud, but some say they love it, me, I wouldn’t feel comfy going out in it lol.

Oh and one note on the pattern, the knit fabric is great because it’s stretchy and oh so comfy.  Keep in mind though, the fabric is wider, so following the instructions, you need to tweak it to cut the fabric so it works with the measurements listed.  Also, on my 3rd one I made, I cut vertical cut shorter so it wouldn’t be so low in the back.

Also, I did do a quick one with a cotton woven even though it said it was a small/xsmall.  I am a size 7/8-10 depending on brand and it fit me just fine.  Also, I started with a yard and a half of fabric so it would be a long dress.

Link | This entry was posted in Sewing Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

