Cream of cauliflower soup

image

This is a pretty easy soup to make and tastes pretty good too.  Since my son and I have started a new low carb/low sugar diet, I’ve been trying to think of some new items to cook for him.  I have heard many time (although I haven’t tried it yet) that mashed cauliflower tastes like mashed potatoes. I kind of wing things when I cook, so here’s the recipe:

1 head of cauliflower (cut the florets off and cut in large chunks)

1 quart of water (or I used College Inn Chicken broth)

3 cloves of garlic-diced

Low fat/non fat milk- as needed

Optional: Shredded cheese

Salt, pepper and any other herbs you would like to use.  I used fresh parsley(flat leaf) and garlic powder.

Toss cauliflower (raw) into a pot with the water or broth and garlic.  Let cook until the cauliflower is mushy.

Use a food processor, blender or handheld blender to puree.  Be careful if the soup is still hot!!  Add milk to thin the soup out or just to add a bit of creaminess.  You can leave it out all together if you prefer.

Put soup back into the pot and season.  You can also add your cheese in at this point if you are adding that.  If the soup is too thin (sometimes cauliflower can contain more water) thicken it with a slurry of water and cornstarch.

Now since I love my potato soup topped with thinly sliced onions that are lightly tossed in seasoned flour, I did it for this too.

Seasoned Flour mix:

Use a cup of flour and season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne (don’t worry, just add a little, it won”t be spicy)

Slice onion thinly and coat in the flour.  Do not do this ahead of time, it will get all nasty!  Lightly pan fry (gah! I know…you could probably do it in the oven by lightly spraying with cooking spray)

Drain on a paper towel.

Image | This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

